Upcoming (Mis)Adventures

I have a few recipes in mind for the upcoming week and will try them soon, but I thought I’d share a couple of laughs and musings with ya’ll before I really get started on them (Or: Before things really get out of hand).

Last night I made some honey-glazed chicken and bacon bites. These things are freakin’ awesome and they aren’t time consuming. If you’re like me you cringe when you have to touch raw chicken (ugh) …but I got past it for these.

What’s even worse is you have to wrap the bacon around the chicken strips. And let me tell you, handling two pieces of slippery meat and trying to put them together is no easy task. I have a gutter-mind and as I was trying to accomplish this it was almost too much for me. The jokes just write themselves, eh?

I also made mashed taters (that turned out lumpy even though I used the potato pusher thingy, I forget what it’s called) and some cheddar biscuits. Chicken, bacon, cheddar biscuits, and taters. I know you think I’m asking for heart failure, but you didn’t taste this shit.

For this week I’m going to try:

  • Comeback Sauce – My first thoughts on this one were, oh it’s the sauce that’s making a comeback aha!. Then, after reading about it, I readjusted that thought to, OH I get it. You “comeback” for the sauce. The name aside, I’m hoping it tastes like Chick-Fil-A sauce, which is crack to me now. (I used to be crazy about the nuggets themselves, now they’re just sauce-boats.)
  • Peanut Butter Balls, or Buckeyes – I think people get a little peeved by the naming of these…that they aren’t named properly or some such thing. Names, again. Yeesh. Anywho, seems simple enough, but again the recipe has things in lbs. and when I see that I die a little inside. I never have things in quantities of pounds, and I can’t get away with hiding them sufficiently enough when there are so goddamn many of them. I’ll cut the recipe and see. I have to make a trip to the store anyway, for cake paraffin wax. Already I know I’m in trouble.
  • And finally, Toasted Ravioli and Marinara – Easy peasy recipe, but there’s frying in oil involved. That’s when things get risky around here. I’m looking forward to this one the most I think.

Hopefully this week will allow for this much (mis)adventure baking, but we’ll see. Doctor’s appt (the girly kind), Shakespeare midterm, and so much reading are the big hitters this week.

Til’ then!

Leave a Reply

